Register   Login AMITE | HAMMOND | INDEPENDENCE | KENTWOOD | LORANGER | PONCHATOULA  
  
  Saturday, May 18, 2013 Databases » Health and Medicine Search
  

 

 

  Ancestry.com Database

 Wireless Printing Now Available at all Library Locations, Please click on the printer icon below to download the printer drivers.

 Tangipahoa Parish Library has FREE wireless internet service available to the public.

 

Mobile Apps

Audio Books

Older Books, E-books,
Audio Books, Etc.

Student Resources

Kid Resources

LEAP, A.C.T.
Test Prep

Genealogy

Louisiana Library
Connection

Access this database first
for a wealth of information
to include Homework Help,
LEAP, GEE, ACT testing,
Automotive Repair, Jobs
and Careers, Newspapers,
and much more!

Languages
Why Pay for Rosetta
Stone when your
Library has Mango!
Check it Out

Health and Medicine

Reference Books

 Services 
Copies / Fax
Childrens Rooms
Databases
Tax Prep
Computers?Internet

  


 
Staff Mail

Tangipahoa Parish Library Administration Office
Hours:
Mon - Fri
8:00am - 3:30pm
(see individual branches for hours)

Barry Bradford- Director
204 NE Central Ave.
Amite, LA 70422
(985) 748 -3465

Bianca Roberts- Asst. Director
204 NE Central Ave.
Amite, LA 70422
(985) 748 -7559 X210

 

 

 

 Louisiana Connection Database Health & Medicine

Click on the header to access each database.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and a total of more than 11,700 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Alt HealthWatch

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.

CINAHL

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.

Consumer Health Complete

Convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information.
Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

Gale Literature for Students Online

Drama, Novels, Poetry, and Short Shories for Students, plus other eBooks.

Health Source - Consumer Edition

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

MedicLatina

MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Psychology And Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 560 journals.

Salud En Español

Consumer Health Complete - Spanish Edition

Science & Technology Collection

The Science & Technology Collection contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

SPORTDiscus

Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1,557,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

Teen Health and Wellness

Teen Health and Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers is a comprehensive database that allows teens (and those who care about teens) to research health-related issues important to their well-being.

 

    

We've partnered with Tangipahoa Schools to bring you Accelerated Reader books


Copyright 2013 by Tangipahoa Parish Library System   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement